Skip to content

Over 50s life insurance calculator

Enter the monthly premium and the payout from an over 50s quote. You'll see what you would pay in by any age, and the point where your payments add up to more than the plan pays out.

UK plans · Free, no sign-up · Updated September 2026

Your plan

The example is a typical plan for a 60-year-old. Change the figures to match your quote.

The quote
years
Most plans accept 50 to 80
£
Fixed for the life of the plan
£
The fixed sum paid when you die
years
Payments stop at age
Check your policy summary. '90 or 30 years' means at 90, or after 30 years of payments if that comes first.

How the calculator works

An over 50s plan charges the same premium every month and pays a fixed sum when you die. Because neither figure changes, the maths is simple: count the monthly payments between your age now and the age you choose, stopping when the plan stops taking payments.

payments by age X = (the earlier of X and the stop age − age now) × 12 paid in by age X = monthly premium × payments by age X passes the payout = after (payout ÷ premium, rounded down) + 1 payments

The example uses £20 a month for a £5,000 payout, starting at 60. That's close to what insurers publish for a 60-year-old non-smoker: OneFamily's own example pays £4,955 for £20 a month, and SunLife's pays £4,470.123 By 85 you'd have made 300 payments, which is £6,000. Your payments pass the £5,000 payout with payment number 251, 20 years 11 months after you start, at about age 80. If payments run until 90, you'd pay £7,200 for a £5,000 payout.

The calculator doesn't allow for interest, inflation or the qualifying period. It shows the cash you'd hand over, set against the cash your family would get.

What over 50s life insurance costs at 50, 60 and 70

The younger you are when you start, the bigger the payout your premium buys. You'll also be paying for longer, though. Legal & General publishes examples for £25 a month at 50, 60, 70 and 8045, so the ages are easy to compare.

Over 50s: starting at 50

At 50, £25 a month buys a payout of £7,643.6 Your payments pass it after 306 payments (25 years 6 months), at about 75. Post Office charges £18.99 a month at 50 for a £5,000 payout.910

Over 60s: starting at 60

Start at 60 and the same £25 buys £6,046.7 Payments pass that after 242 payments (20 years 2 months), at about 80. For a £5,000 payout, Post Office's example is £25.20 a month.

Over 70s: starting at 70 or later

At 70, £25 a month buys £3,701.8 Your payments pass it after 149 payments (12 years 5 months), at about 82. Post Office's price for £5,000 is £39.69 a month. SunLife's £20 example pays £2,776 at 70 and £1,442 at 80.311 Most plans accept new customers up to 80. SunLife goes up to 85, and Scottish Friendly stops at 74.1213

Check these before you buy

The qualifying period

Guaranteed plans don't ask about your health, so they don't pay the full amount straight away. For the first 12 months on many plans1415, or 2 years on others1617, only a death caused by an accident gets the full payout. Assurity's qualifying period is 3 years.18 If you die of an illness in that time, your family gets back what you've paid, or 150% of it on some plans.192021 National Friendly shortens its period to 6 months if you answer 2 optional medical questions.2223

When payments stop

Plans stop taking payments at different ages: 85 at National Assurance25, 95 at SunLife26, and 90 or after 30 years at Aviva, whichever comes first.24 The cover carries on after the last payment.28 National Friendly's plan takes payments for life, and it says you could pay in more than the payout.27 The stop age decides the most you can pay in, so set it in the calculator.

No cash-in value

These plans aren't savings. They have no cash-in value2930, and if you stop paying, the cover ends and you lose what you've paid.31 Only take one out if you're confident you can keep up the premium, possibly for 30 years or more.

The payout doesn't grow

The payout is fixed on the day you start. Prices rise over the years, so the same sum will buy less when it's paid. A payout that covers a funeral today may cover only part of one in 25 years.

How much cover you can buy

Payouts are small. Across the published examples on this page they range from £510 to £7,643. Many providers cap your premiums, for example at £100 a month across all your policies with them.32

Other options to weigh up

Term life insurance

If you're in reasonable health, term life insurance usually buys far more cover for the money. In price illustrations quoted by Aviva, £10 a month bought a 60-year-old non-smoker £18,089 of cover for 10 years, and a 70-year-old £7,068 for 10 years.33 For the same £10, over 50s illustrations show a payout of £2,214 at 60 and £1,325 at 70.34 Term cover does ask about your health, though, and it pays nothing if you're still alive when the term ends.

Saving the money yourself

If you put the £20 into a savings account each month instead, you'd have £5,020 after 20 years 11 months before any interest. That's more than the payout. The plan does better if you die sooner. After the qualifying period, it pays the full £5,000 even if you've only paid in a few hundred pounds. Savings do better if you live longer, and you can reach the money while you're alive. For a bigger lump sum or an inheritance tax bill, see our whole of life insurance calculator.

Published over 50s prices by age

What insurers say their over 50s plans cost, from their own websites and from price illustrations for £5 and £10 a month. The last column uses the calculator's maths. Your age group is highlighted.

AgeProviderA monthPayoutPayments pass the payout afterDated
50British Seniors3536£4.52£1,000222 payments (18 years 6 months)Not stated
50SunLife34£5£1,201241 payments (20 years 1 month)4 February 2026
50Scottish Friendly3738£723p a day (about £7 a month)£2,000286 payments (23 years 10 months)Not stated
50OneFamily34£10£3,101311 payments (25 years 11 months)4 February 2026
50Post Office910£18.99£5,000264 payments (22 years)Not stated
50SunLife31139£20£5,694285 payments (23 years 9 months)October 2025
50Legal & General456£25£7,643306 payments (25 years 6 months)8 June 2026
55SunLife34£5£1,035208 payments (17 years 4 months)4 February 2026
55OneFamily34£10£2,554256 payments (21 years 4 months)4 February 2026
55SunLife31139£20£4,959248 payments (20 years 8 months)October 2025
60SunLife34£5£929186 payments (15 years 6 months)4 February 2026
60OneFamily34£10£2,214222 payments (18 years 6 months)4 February 2026
60OneFamily12£20£4,955248 payments (20 years 8 months)6 January 2026
60SunLife31139£20£4,470224 payments (18 years 8 months)October 2025
60Legal & General457£25£6,046242 payments (20 years 2 months)8 June 2026
60Post Office910£25.20£5,000199 payments (16 years 7 months)Not stated
65SunLife34£5£758152 payments (12 years 8 months)4 February 2026
65OneFamily34£10£1,760177 payments (14 years 9 months)4 February 2026
65SunLife31139£20£3,647183 payments (15 years 3 months)October 2025
65Shepherds Friendly4041£23£5,025219 payments (18 years 3 months)2 September 2026
70SunLife34£5£576116 payments (9 years 8 months)4 February 2026
70SunLife34£10£1,325133 payments (11 years 1 month)4 February 2026
70SunLife31139£20£2,776139 payments (11 years 7 months)October 2025
70Legal & General458£25£3,701149 payments (12 years 5 months)8 June 2026
70Post Office910£39.69£5,000126 payments (10 years 6 months)Not stated
75SunLife34£6£51987 payments (7 years 3 months)4 February 2026
75SunLife34£10£94695 payments (7 years 11 months)4 February 2026
75SunLife31139£20£1,985100 payments (8 years 4 months)October 2025
80SunLife34£8£53567 payments (5 years 7 months)4 February 2026
80SunLife34£10£68869 payments (5 years 9 months)4 February 2026
80SunLife31139£20£1,44273 payments (6 years 1 month)October 2025
80Legal & General4542£25£1,89376 payments (6 years 4 months)8 June 2026
80Post Office910£76.63£5,00066 payments (5 years 6 months)Not stated
85SunLife34£11£51047 payments (3 years 11 months)4 February 2026

All examples are for non-smokers. Sorted by age, then premium, then provider name; not a ranking. "Not stated" means the insurer's page gives no date for its example.

How over 50s plans differ

The main terms of guaranteed over 50s plans sold in the UK. Several banks and brands sell plans provided by Aviva.6777

ProviderAges to applyMonthly premiumsQualifying periodPayments stopCash-in value
AssurityOver 50s Whole of Life50–80 (smokers 50–75)4344Up to £100 in total453 years (premiums refunded)1846At 9547None48
AvivaOver 50s Life Insurance50–8049£5–£1003212 months (premiums refunded)14At 90, or after 30 years if sooner24None29
British SeniorsOver 50s Life Insurance50–8050From £4.52 (age 50)353612 months (premiums refunded)51At 9552None53
Legal & GeneralOver 50s Fixed Life Insurance50–8054£5–£75551 year (premiums refunded)15At 9028None56
National AssuranceOver 50s Life Insurance50–80 (smokers 50–75)5758Up to £100 in total592 years (premiums refunded)1660At 8525None61
National FriendlyOver 50s Life Cover50–80 (smokers 50–75)62£10–£10063642 years, or 6 months if you answer 2 optional medical questions (payments refunded)222365Never: paid for life27None31
NatWestGuaranteed Over 50s50–8066£5–£1006712 months (premiums refunded)6869At 90, or after 30 years if sooner70None71
OneFamilyOver 50s Life Cover50–8072£10–£75732 years (150% of premiums paid)2074At 9075None76
Post OfficeOver 50s Life Cover50–8077From £5 (age 50)787912 months (1.5 times premiums paid)21At 9580None81
Royal Bank of ScotlandGuaranteed Over 50s50–8082£5–£1008312 months (premiums refunded)8485At 90, or after 30 years if sooner86None87
Sainsbury'sOver 50s Life Insurance – Fixed Plan50–8088From £5891 year (premiums refunded)90At 9091None92
SantanderOver 50s Life Insurance50–8093£5–£1009412 months (premiums refunded)1995At 90, or after 30 years if sooner96None97
Scottish FriendlyMy Mutual Guaranteed Over 50s Plan50–7413From £7982 years (premiums refunded)99At 90, or earlier with fund growth (not guaranteed)100101None102
Shepherds FriendlyOver 50s Life Insurance50–80103£10–£501042 years (150% of premiums paid)17105At 90, or after 30 years if sooner106None107
Smart InsuranceSmart Guaranteed Life Insurance30–80108From £3.57 (age 30)10911024 months (premiums refunded)111At 95112None113
SunLifeGuaranteed Over 50 Plan49–8512£4–£741141 year (premiums refunded)115At 9526None30
TSBOver 50s Fixed Life Insurance50–80116£5–£751171 year (premiums refunded)118At 90119None120
Ulster BankGuaranteed Over 50s50–80121£5–£10012212 months (premiums refunded)123124At 90, or after 30 years if sooner125None126

In alphabetical order, not ranked. The bracket after the qualifying period shows what's paid if you die of an illness during it. Smart Insurance's plan also accepts people from age 30. Terms were taken from each provider's own pages and documents; check the latest policy summary before you apply.

Questions people ask

How much is over 50s life insurance a month?

Most plans let you choose a monthly premium, usually somewhere between £5 and £100, and the payout depends on your age when you start. In Legal & General's published examples, £25 a month buys a payout of £7,643 at 50, £6,046 at 60 and £3,701 at 70. Post Office's examples for a fixed £5,000 payout cost £18.99 a month at 50, £25.20 at 60 and £39.69 at 70. The tables on this page list every published example we found.

Is over 50s life insurance worth it at 60?

It depends on how long you live and how long you keep paying. At 60, the payments on a typical plan pass the payout after about 20 years, so you'd pay in more than your family gets back if you live past about 80. If you die in your 60s or 70s, after the qualifying period, the plan pays out more than you put in. If you're in good health, level term cover or saving the money yourself may leave your family more. Put your own quote into the calculator to see where the line falls.

Can I get over 50s life insurance over 70?

Yes. Most guaranteed plans accept you up to 80, and SunLife takes new customers up to 85. Scottish Friendly's plan stops at 74. The payout for a given premium is much smaller from 70 onwards, and your payments pass it sooner: with Legal & General's age 70 example, after about 12 years. A stop age also caps what you pay: if you start at 75 and payments stop at 90, you pay for 15 years at most.

What happens if I die in the first year or two?

Guaranteed plans have a qualifying period, usually 1 or 2 years. If you die of an illness during it, the plan pays back the premiums you've paid (some pay back 150%) instead of the full payout. If you die in an accident, the full payout is paid from the start.

Can I cash in an over 50s plan or get my money back?

No. The plans in our table have no cash-in value at any time. If you stop paying, the cover ends and you get nothing back, however many years you've paid in.

Do I have to keep paying for the rest of my life?

On most plans, no. Payments stop at a set age, commonly 90 or 95, and some stop after 30 years of payments if that comes first. Your cover then carries on for life without further payments. A few plans take payments for as long as you live, so check the policy summary before you buy.

Is this over 50 life insurance calculator free?

Yes, and there's no sign-up. It runs in your browser and the figures you type aren't sent to us, so we never see your name, email or phone number. It doesn't give quotes: type in the premium and payout from a quote you already have, or use the published examples as a starting point.

Over 50s plan or term life insurance?

A guaranteed over 50s plan accepts you without health questions and pays out whenever you die, once the qualifying period is over. Term life insurance asks about your health and only pays out if you die within a set number of years, but for the same monthly cost the payout is usually many times bigger. If you're healthy and want cover for a set period, compare term quotes first. Our life insurance calculator gives a rough price.

Sources

Show all 126 sources
  1. OneFamily's own Over 50s comparison (as at 6 January 2026) shows a payout of £4,955 for its policy, full cover after 24 months, premiums payable until age 90, terminal illness benefit and flexible premiums included, and a 5-star Defaqto rating. OneFamily: Over 50s Life Cover product page, checked 25 September 2026
  2. The figures in OneFamily's Over 50s comparison are for a 60-year-old non-smoker paying £20 a month, correct as at 6 January 2026. OneFamily: Over 50s Life Cover product page, checked 25 September 2026
  3. In SunLife's £20-a-month non-smoker example, the payout is £5,694 at age 50, £4,959 at 55, £4,470 at 60, £3,647 at 65, £2,776 at 70, £1,985 at 75 and £1,442 at 80. SunLife: Guaranteed Over 50 Plan (over 50 life insurance) product page, checked 25 September 2026
  4. L&G's Over 50s examples are for non-smokers paying £25 a month. Legal & General: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  5. L&G took its Over 50s examples on 8 June 2026, when its customers' average monthly premium over the previous six months was £26.99. Legal & General: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  6. In L&G's example, £25 a month buys a 50-year-old non-smoker an Over 50s cash sum of £7,643. Legal & General: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  7. In L&G's example, £25 a month buys a 60-year-old non-smoker an Over 50s cash sum of £6,046. Legal & General: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  8. In L&G's example, £25 a month buys a 70-year-old non-smoker an Over 50s cash sum of £3,701. Legal & General: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  9. Post Office's example Over 50s premiums for £5,000 of cover are £18.99 (age 50), £25.20 (60), £39.69 (70) and £76.63 (80) a month. Post Office: Post Office Over 50s Life Insurance product page (guaranteed acceptance, cover limits, protected payout, underwriter), checked 25 September 2026
  10. The Over 50s example premiums are for non-smokers. Post Office: Post Office Over 50s Life Insurance product page (guaranteed acceptance, cover limits, protected payout, underwriter), checked 25 September 2026
  11. SunLife's example payouts are for new non-smoker customers and are correct as at October 2025. SunLife: Guaranteed Over 50 Plan (over 50 life insurance) product page, checked 25 September 2026
  12. To be eligible for the Guaranteed Over 50 Plan you must be aged 49–85 and resident in the UK (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland or Wales, not the Channel Islands or Isle of Man) at the start date. SunLife: Guaranteed Over 50 Plan terms and conditions including the policy summary (S-G050T12.25.V3), checked 25 September 2026
  13. Acceptance is guaranteed if you are aged 50 to 74 and live in the UK at the start date. Scottish Friendly: My Mutual Guaranteed Over 50s Plan Key Facts and Terms & Conditions (final 170821), checked 25 September 2026
  14. The Over 50s policy pays the full cover amount on death from any cause after 12 months, or accidental death in the first 12 months; other deaths in the first 12 months get a refund of premiums paid. Aviva: Over 50 life insurance product page, checked 24 September 2026
  15. L&G Over 50s full cover is payable after one year; if death is within the first year premiums are refunded, unless the death was accidental, when full cover is paid. Legal & General: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  16. During the first two years of the policy, the cash sum is paid if you die as a result of an accident. National Assurance: Simple Over 50s Life Product Policy Summary, effective 1 April 2022 (NA PS 04.22), checked 25 September 2026
  17. The Over 50s lump sum is not paid on death in the first two years unless the death is accidental. Shepherds Friendly: Over 50s Life Insurance terms and conditions (O50.2026.03.TC), checked 25 September 2026
  18. During the first three years, the Assurity over 50s plan pays the cash sum if you die an accidental death. Assurity: Assurity Over 50s Whole of Life Product policy summary (effective 1 April 2022, ref A PS 04.22B), checked 24 September 2026
  19. Over 50s Life Insurance pays back the premiums paid if death in the first year is from any cause other than an accident. Santander: Over 50s Life Insurance page, checked 25 September 2026
  20. If the life assured dies within the qualifying period other than by accident, OneFamily pays the estate 150% of the total premiums paid. OneFamily: Over 50s Life Cover Terms and Conditions (May 2026), checked 25 September 2026
  21. If death is not accidental and happens in the first 12 months (the deferred period), Over 50s Life Cover pays 1.5 times the premiums paid. Post Office: Post Office Over 50s Life Cover: Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions (PO 050 KF v2.9 LIVE AUG26), checked 25 September 2026
  22. Over 50s Life Cover has a standard two-year qualifying period, which can drop to six months if you answer the medical questions. National Friendly: Over 50s Life Cover product page, checked 25 September 2026
  23. Answering Over 50s Life Cover's two medical questions is optional. National Friendly: Over 50s Life Cover product page, checked 25 September 2026
  24. Over 50s premiums stop after 30 years or at the policy anniversary after your 90th birthday, whichever comes first, and cover continues until death. Aviva: Over 50 life insurance product page, checked 24 September 2026
  25. Premiums are paid monthly by direct debit until the policy anniversary after your 85th birthday; after that no more premiums are due and cover continues for the rest of your life. National Assurance: Simple Over 50s Life Product Policy Summary, effective 1 April 2022 (NA PS 04.22), checked 25 September 2026
  26. Guaranteed Over 50 Plan premiums stop at the policy anniversary on or after the 95th birthday, and cover continues until death. SunLife: Guaranteed Over 50 Plan terms and conditions including the policy summary (S-G050T12.25.V3), checked 25 September 2026
  27. Over 50s Life Cover payments continue until you die, and depending on how long you live you could pay in more than the payout. National Friendly: Over 50s Life Cover product page, checked 25 September 2026
  28. L&G Over 50s premiums stop at age 90 but cover continues for life. Legal & General: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  29. The Over 50s policy has no cash-in value at any time. Aviva: Over 50s Life Insurance policy summary (DA03015), checked 24 September 2026
  30. The Guaranteed Over 50 Plan has no cash-in value at any time. SunLife: Guaranteed Over 50 Plan terms and conditions including the policy summary (S-G050T12.25.V3), checked 25 September 2026
  31. Over 50s Life Cover has no surrender value, so all cover is lost if you leave. National Friendly: Pure Protection Product Fair Value Assessments, August 2026 (Over 50s Life Cover section), checked 25 September 2026
  32. The minimum Over 50s premium is £5 a month, and total premiums across all your Aviva Over 50s policies can't exceed £100 a month. Aviva: Over 50s Life Insurance policy summary (DA03015), checked 24 September 2026
  33. Visionary Markets: Level term life insurance price illustrations for £5 and £10 a month (Aviva, non-smoker, no medical conditions), correct as on 2 February 2026
  34. Visionary Markets: Guaranteed over 50 life insurance price illustrations for £5 and £10 a month (SunLife and OneFamily, non-smoker, subject to individual status), correct as on 4 February 2026
  35. British Seniors advertises Over 50 Life Insurance from £4.52 a month. British Seniors: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 24 September 2026
  36. The £4.52 a month price is for a 50-year-old non-smoker with £1,000 of cover. British Seniors: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 24 September 2026
  37. 23p a day is about £7 a month, which matches the £7 minimum monthly premium in the key facts. Scottish Friendly
  38. Scottish Friendly's over 50s plan costs from 23p a day, based on a 50-year-old non-smoker with £2,000 cover. Scottish Friendly: Guaranteed Over 50s Life Insurance (My Mutual Guaranteed Over 50s Plan) product page, checked 25 September 2026
  39. SunLife's payout guide is for a non-smoker paying £20 a month into a Guaranteed Over 50 Plan. SunLife: Guaranteed Over 50 Plan (over 50 life insurance) product page, checked 25 September 2026
  40. In that example, the Shepherds Friendly Over 50s payout is £5,025. Shepherds Friendly: Over 50s Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  41. Shepherds Friendly's Over 50s example is for a 65-year-old non-smoker paying £23 a month, with figures correct as of 2 September 2026. Shepherds Friendly: Over 50s Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  42. In L&G's example, £25 a month buys an 80-year-old non-smoker an Over 50s cash sum of £1,893. Legal & General: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  43. Non-smokers can take out the Assurity over 50s plan between the ages of 50 and 80. Assurity: Assurity Over 50s Whole of Life Product terms and conditions (effective 1 April 2022, ref A TC 04.22), checked 24 September 2026
  44. Smokers can take out the Assurity over 50s plan between the ages of 50 and 75. Assurity: Assurity Over 50s Whole of Life Product policy summary (effective 1 April 2022, ref A PS 04.22B), checked 24 September 2026
  45. You can hold more than one of the insurer's Over 50s Whole of Life policies, provided the maximum monthly premium payable under all such policies does not exceed £100. Assurity: Assurity Over 50s Whole of Life Product policy summary (effective 1 April 2022, ref A PS 04.22B), checked 24 September 2026
  46. If you die in the first three years other than from an accidental death, the plan pays a sum equal to all premiums paid. Assurity: Assurity Over 50s Whole of Life Product policy summary (effective 1 April 2022, ref A PS 04.22B), checked 24 September 2026
  47. Premiums stop on the policy anniversary after your 95th birthday, and cover continues for the rest of your life. Assurity: Assurity Over 50s Whole of Life Product policy summary (effective 1 April 2022, ref A PS 04.22B), checked 24 September 2026
  48. The plan is not a savings or investment plan and has no cash-in or surrender value at any time. Assurity: Assurity Over 50s Whole of Life Product policy summary (effective 1 April 2022, ref A PS 04.22B), checked 24 September 2026
  49. Aviva's over 50 life insurance offers lifetime cover with no medical and guaranteed acceptance for UK residents aged 50–80, with full cover after one year. Aviva: Over 50 life insurance product page, checked 24 September 2026
  50. Over 50s Life Insurance is open to UK residents aged 50 to 80 at the start date, and Aviva guarantees to accept anyone who meets these criteria. British Seniors: Over 50s Life Insurance Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions (BSIA KFO50 v4.2 LIVE JAN26), checked 24 September 2026
  51. If a life insured dies from non-accidental causes in the first 12 months (the deferred period), Aviva pays back the total premiums paid for that person instead of the benefit amount. British Seniors: Over 50s Life Insurance Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions (BSIA KFO50 v4.2 LIVE JAN26), checked 24 September 2026
  52. Premiums for each life insured are only payable until the policy anniversary on or after their 95th birthday. British Seniors: Over 50s Life Insurance Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions (BSIA KFO50 v4.2 LIVE JAN26), checked 24 September 2026
  53. The current Over 50s Life Insurance policy (KFO50 v4.2) has no cash-in value. British Seniors: Over 50s Life Insurance Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions (BSIA KFO50 v4.2 LIVE JAN26), checked 24 September 2026
  54. L&G Over 50s Fixed Life Insurance guarantees acceptance with no medical for UK residents aged 50 to 80. Legal & General: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  55. L&G Over 50s premiums range from £5 to £75 a month, depending on age and smoker status. Legal & General: Over 50 Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  56. L&G Over 50s Fixed Life Insurance has no cash value unless a valid claim is made. Legal & General: Over 50 Life Insurance FAQs, checked 25 September 2026
  57. Non-smokers can take out the Simple Over 50s Life Product between the ages of 50 and 80. National Assurance: Simple Over 50s Life Product Terms and Conditions (policy conditions), effective 1 April 2022 (NA TC 04.22), linked as "Policy Wording" on the Over 50s product card, checked 25 September 2026
  58. Smokers can take out the Simple Over 50s Life Product between the ages of 50 and 75. National Assurance: Simple Over 50s Life Product Terms and Conditions (policy conditions), effective 1 April 2022 (NA TC 04.22), linked as "Policy Wording" on the Over 50s product card, checked 25 September 2026
  59. The policy summary says you can take out more than one of 'our' (National Friendly's) Over 50s Whole of Life plans only if the maximum monthly premium across all of them does not exceed £100; any policy issued above that limit is not valid and is cancelled. National Assurance: Simple Over 50s Life Product Policy Summary, effective 1 April 2022 (NA PS 04.22), checked 25 September 2026
  60. If you die in the first two years from anything other than an accident, a cash sum equal to all premiums paid is paid out. National Assurance: Simple Over 50s Life Product Policy Summary, effective 1 April 2022 (NA PS 04.22), checked 25 September 2026
  61. The Simple Over 50s Life Product is not a savings or investment plan and has no cash-in or surrender value at any time. National Assurance: Simple Over 50s Life Product Policy Summary, effective 1 April 2022 (NA PS 04.22), checked 25 September 2026
  62. Over 50s Life Cover guarantees acceptance for people living in the UK who are non-smokers aged 50 to 80 or smokers aged 50 to 75. National Friendly: Over 50s Life Cover product page, checked 25 September 2026
  63. National Friendly's Over 50s Life Cover starts from £10 a month (direct landing page). National Friendly: Over 50s Life Cover direct landing page (apply online), checked 25 September 2026
  64. Over 50s Life Cover has a maximum premium of £100 a month. National Friendly: Pure Protection Product Fair Value Assessments, August 2026 (Over 50s Life Cover section), checked 25 September 2026
  65. If you die of a non-accidental cause during the qualifying period, Over 50s Life Cover pays back all the payments you have made. National Friendly: Over 50s Life Cover product page, checked 25 September 2026
  66. Over 50s Life Insurance offers guaranteed acceptance with no medical for people aged 50 to 80. NatWest: Over 50s Life Insurance page on NatWest's Aviva quote site (AL14022), checked 25 September 2026
  67. Over 50s premiums are between £5 and £100 a month per plan, with a maximum of £100 a month across all Aviva Over 50s policies. NatWest: Over 50s Life Insurance page on NatWest's Aviva quote site (AL14022), checked 25 September 2026
  68. The Over 50s policy pays the cover amount on death from any cause after the first 12 months, or on accidental death within the first 12 months. NatWest: Over 50s Life Insurance page on NatWest's Aviva quote site (AL14022), checked 25 September 2026
  69. If the policyholder dies in the first 12 months for any other reason, the Over 50s policy pays back the premiums paid, not the cover amount. NatWest: Over 50s Life Insurance page on NatWest's Aviva quote site (AL14022), checked 25 September 2026
  70. Over 50s premiums stop after 30 years or at the policy anniversary after the 90th birthday, whichever is first, but cover lasts until death. NatWest: Over 50s Life Insurance page on NatWest's Aviva quote site (AL14022), checked 25 September 2026
  71. The Over 50s policy has no cash-in value at any time. NatWest: Over 50s Life Insurance policy summary (DA03015 07/2023), linked from NatWest's Aviva Over 50s page, checked 25 September 2026
  72. To take out Over 50s Life Cover you must be a UK resident aged 50 to 80 and live in the UK. OneFamily: Over 50s Life Cover Terms and Conditions (May 2026), checked 25 September 2026
  73. Over 50s Life Cover premiums range from £10 to £75 a month, depending on age and sum assured limits. OneFamily: Over 50s Life Cover FAQs, checked 25 September 2026
  74. The qualifying period is the first two years the policy must have been active before OneFamily pays the full benefit. OneFamily: Over 50s Life Cover Terms and Conditions (May 2026), checked 25 September 2026
  75. Over 50s policyholders stop paying premiums at age 90, but cover continues until death or a terminal illness payout. OneFamily: Over 50s Life Cover FAQs, checked 25 September 2026
  76. Over 50s Life Cover is not a savings plan, has no cash-in value and only pays out on death or a terminal illness claim. OneFamily: Over 50s Life Cover FAQs, checked 25 September 2026
  77. Over 50s Life Cover is for UK residents aged 50 to 80, and Aviva guarantees to accept anyone who meets these criteria. Post Office: Post Office Over 50s Life Cover: Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions (PO 050 KF v2.9 LIVE AUG26), checked 25 September 2026
  78. Post Office's funeral insurance guide says premiums for its over 50s cover start from £5 a month and are fixed. Post Office: Funeral insurance guide (no standalone funeral insurance; Over 50s Life Insurance and Funeral Benefit Option), checked 25 September 2026
  79. The £5 a month Over 50s starting price is for a 50-year-old taking £1,000 of cover. Post Office: Funeral insurance guide (no standalone funeral insurance; Over 50s Life Insurance and Funeral Benefit Option), checked 25 September 2026
  80. Over 50s premiums stop at the policy anniversary on or after age 95, and cover continues. Post Office: Post Office Over 50s Life Cover: Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions (PO 050 KF v2.9 LIVE AUG26), checked 25 September 2026
  81. Over 50s Life Cover has no cash value and cannot be cashed in. Post Office: Post Office Over 50s Life Cover: Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions (PO 050 KF v2.9 LIVE AUG26), checked 25 September 2026
  82. Aviva offers guaranteed acceptance with no medical on its Over 50s Life Insurance for applicants aged 50 to 80. Royal Bank of Scotland: Over 50s Life Insurance page on Royal Bank of Scotland's Aviva quote site (AL14022 02/2026), checked 25 September 2026
  83. Over 50s premiums can be between £5 and £100 a month per plan, with a maximum of £100 a month across all Aviva over 50s policies. Royal Bank of Scotland: Over 50s Life Insurance page on Royal Bank of Scotland's Aviva quote site (AL14022 02/2026), checked 25 September 2026
  84. Over 50s pays the cover amount on death from any cause after the first 12 months, or on accidental death within the first 12 months. Royal Bank of Scotland: Over 50s Life Insurance page on Royal Bank of Scotland's Aviva quote site (AL14022 02/2026), checked 25 September 2026
  85. If an Over 50s policyholder dies within the first 12 months for a non-accidental reason, Aviva pays back the premiums paid rather than the cover amount. Royal Bank of Scotland: Over 50s Life Insurance page on Royal Bank of Scotland's Aviva quote site (AL14022 02/2026), checked 25 September 2026
  86. Over 50s premiums stop after 30 years or at the policy anniversary after the 90th birthday, whichever comes first, while cover lasts until death. Royal Bank of Scotland: Over 50s Life Insurance page on Royal Bank of Scotland's Aviva quote site (AL14022 02/2026), checked 25 September 2026
  87. The Over 50s policy has no cash-in value at any time. Royal Bank of Scotland: Over 50s Life Insurance policy summary (DA03015 07/2023), linked from Royal Bank of Scotland's Aviva Over 50s page, checked 25 September 2026
  88. Over 50s acceptance is guaranteed for UK residents aged 50 to 80. Sainsbury's: Over 50s life insurance product page (Fixed and Increasing Plans), with Nectar points offer terms, checked 25 September 2026
  89. Over 50s cover starts from £5 a month depending on age and smoker status. Sainsbury's: Over 50s life insurance product page (Fixed and Increasing Plans), with Nectar points offer terms, checked 25 September 2026
  90. There are no medical questions; full cover is paid after one year, premiums are refunded on death in the first year, but full cover is paid for accidental death. Sainsbury's: Over 50s life insurance product page (Fixed and Increasing Plans), with Nectar points offer terms, checked 25 September 2026
  91. Over 50s premiums stop after your 90th birthday, but cover continues for life. Sainsbury's: Over 50s life insurance product page (Fixed and Increasing Plans), with Nectar points offer terms, checked 25 September 2026
  92. Over 50s plans are not savings products and have no cash value unless a valid claim is made. Sainsbury's: Over 50s life insurance product page (Fixed and Increasing Plans), with Nectar points offer terms, checked 25 September 2026
  93. Applicants for Over 50s Life Insurance must be aged 50 to 80. Santander: Santander Over 50s Life Insurance policy conditions (SD11002, 09/2021), checked 25 September 2026
  94. Over 50s Life Insurance premiums range from £5 to £100 a month. Santander: Santander Over 50s Life Insurance policy summary (SD11001, 09/2025), checked 25 September 2026
  95. Over 50s Life Insurance guarantees to pay the cover amount on death 12 months or more after the policy starts. Santander: Santander Over 50s Life Insurance policy summary (SD11001, 09/2025), checked 25 September 2026
  96. Over 50s premiums are paid until the policy anniversary after the 90th birthday or for a maximum of 30 years, whichever is earlier. Santander: Santander Over 50s Life Insurance policy summary (SD11001, 09/2025), checked 25 September 2026
  97. Over 50s Life Insurance has no cash-in value at any time. Santander: Santander Over 50s Life Insurance policy summary (SD11001, 09/2025), checked 25 September 2026
  98. Premiums on the My Mutual Guaranteed Over 50s Plan start from £7 a month. Scottish Friendly: My Mutual Guaranteed Over 50s Plan Key Facts and Terms & Conditions (final 170821), checked 25 September 2026
  99. Before 2 years of premiums have been paid, the full Cash Benefit is paid only for accidental death; otherwise the premiums received are returned. Scottish Friendly: My Mutual Guaranteed Over 50s Plan Key Facts and Terms & Conditions (final 170821), checked 25 September 2026
  100. Premiums are payable from the Policy Start Date until the earliest of the policy anniversary after your 90th birthday, your death, or an Early Premium End Date. Scottish Friendly: My Mutual Guaranteed Over 50s Plan Key Facts and Terms & Conditions (final 170821), checked 25 September 2026
  101. The illustrative growth rates are for information only, and Scottish Friendly cannot guarantee that the payment term will be shortened. Scottish Friendly: My Mutual Guaranteed Over 50s Plan Key Facts and Terms & Conditions (final 170821), checked 25 September 2026
  102. The policy has no value other than the amount payable on death. Scottish Friendly: My Mutual Guaranteed Over 50s Plan Key Facts and Terms & Conditions (final 170821), checked 25 September 2026
  103. To take out the Over 50s plan you must be aged 50 to 80 at the start of the plan. Shepherds Friendly: Over 50s Life Insurance terms and conditions (O50.2026.03.TC), checked 25 September 2026
  104. Over 50s premiums are between £10 and £50 a month. Shepherds Friendly: Over 50s Life Insurance terms and conditions (O50.2026.03.TC), checked 25 September 2026
  105. If the policyholder dies of natural causes or a medical condition in the first two years (with payments up to date), Shepherds Friendly pays back 150% of the premiums paid instead of the lump sum. Shepherds Friendly: Over 50s Life Insurance terms and conditions (O50.2026.03.TC), checked 25 September 2026
  106. Over 50s premiums stop after 30 years of payments or at age 90, whichever comes first, and cover continues. Shepherds Friendly: Over 50s Life Insurance terms and conditions (O50.2026.03.TC), checked 25 September 2026
  107. The Over 50s plan has no cash-in value at any time before death. Shepherds Friendly: Over 50s Life Insurance terms and conditions (O50.2026.03.TC), checked 25 September 2026
  108. Smart Guaranteed Life Insurance is open to UK residents aged 30 to 80 at the start date, and acceptance is guaranteed if these criteria are met. Smart Insurance: Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions about Smart Guaranteed Life Insurance (v0.1, SEP23), checked 25 September 2026
  109. Smart advertises Guaranteed Life premiums from £3.57 a month, with no medical or health questions. Smart Insurance: A Guide To Getting Life Insurance Without A Medical (Guaranteed Life Insurance), checked 25 September 2026
  110. The £3.57 Guaranteed Life example is for a 30-year-old on an individual policy with £2,000 of cover. Smart Insurance: A Guide To Getting Life Insurance Without A Medical (Guaranteed Life Insurance), checked 25 September 2026
  111. For non-accidental death in the first 24 months (the deferred period), Guaranteed Life pays back only the premiums paid for that life insured. Smart Insurance: Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions about Smart Guaranteed Life Insurance (v0.1, SEP23), checked 25 September 2026
  112. Guaranteed Life premiums are fixed at the start and stop at the policy anniversary on or after age 95. Smart Insurance: Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions about Smart Guaranteed Life Insurance (v0.1, SEP23), checked 25 September 2026
  113. Smart Guaranteed Life Insurance has no cash-in value at any time. Smart Insurance: Key Facts and Policy Terms and Conditions about Smart Guaranteed Life Insurance (v0.1, SEP23), checked 25 September 2026
  114. SunLife says its over 50s life insurance could cost anything from £4 to £74 a month. SunLife: Guaranteed Over 50 Plan (over 50 life insurance) product page, checked 25 September 2026
  115. If the policyholder dies in the first year other than as the result of an accident, the Guaranteed Over 50 Plan returns all premiums paid instead of the cash sum. SunLife: Guaranteed Over 50 Plan terms and conditions including the policy summary (S-G050T12.25.V3), checked 25 September 2026
  116. Over 50s Fixed Life Insurance offers guaranteed acceptance with no medical questions for UK residents aged 50 to 80. TSB: TSB Over 50s Fixed Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  117. TSB Over 50s Fixed Life Insurance premiums start from £5 a month and go up to £75 a month, depending on age and smoker status. TSB: TSB Over 50s Fixed Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  118. Full cover is payable after one year; a claim in the first year refunds premiums, except accidental death, which pays the full amount. TSB: TSB Over 50s Fixed Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  119. Over 50s premiums are due monthly up to and including the 90th birthday; after that no more premiums are paid but cover continues until death. TSB: Over 50s Fixed Life Insurance Policy Terms and Conditions (LG3704 10/25), checked 25 September 2026
  120. The over 50s plan cannot be cashed in; it has no cash value unless a valid claim is made. TSB: TSB Over 50s Fixed Life Insurance product page, checked 25 September 2026
  121. Over 50s Life Insurance offers guaranteed acceptance with no medical for people aged 50 to 80. Ulster Bank: Over 50s Life Insurance page on Ulster Bank's Aviva quote site (AL14022), checked 25 September 2026
  122. Over 50s premiums are between £5 and £100 a month per plan, with a maximum of £100 a month across all Aviva Over 50s policies. Ulster Bank: Over 50s Life Insurance page on Ulster Bank's Aviva quote site (AL14022), checked 25 September 2026
  123. The Over 50s policy pays the cover amount on death from any cause after the first 12 months, or on accidental death within the first 12 months. Ulster Bank: Over 50s Life Insurance page on Ulster Bank's Aviva quote site (AL14022), checked 25 September 2026
  124. If the policyholder dies in the first 12 months for any other reason, the Over 50s policy pays back the premiums paid, not the cover amount. Ulster Bank: Over 50s Life Insurance page on Ulster Bank's Aviva quote site (AL14022), checked 25 September 2026
  125. Over 50s premiums stop after 30 years or at the policy anniversary after the 90th birthday, whichever is first, but cover lasts until death. Ulster Bank: Over 50s Life Insurance page on Ulster Bank's Aviva quote site (AL14022), checked 25 September 2026
  126. The Over 50s policy has no cash-in value at any time. Ulster Bank: Over 50s Life Insurance policy summary, linked from Ulster Bank's Aviva quote site (DA03015 07/2023), checked 25 September 2026